February 6th 2015

Growing up, I was always taught that you cannot control what others say and do, you can only control how you react to it. Oprah Winfrey once said “The greatest discovery of all time is that a person can change his future my merely changing his attitude.”

I believe my reaction to negativity controls the fate of my happiness. We’ve all experienced being around that negative person that draws you into their sad situations where everyone is in the wrong except them and nothing seems to go right or will it ever go right. Most of these people use the phrase “with my luck (fill in with something negative)……..” or maybe “I could never do that” . You get the idea. If you always think the worst in every situation, I believe you can expect the worst. Think about a person you know with this attitude and ask yourself, are they a happy person? Probably not.

Another great quote is that of Groucho Marx. “Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” I find it hard to believe that someone with the name Groucho was actually so inspirational, LOL

I am not saying that the power of positive thinking is easy to do. It would be easier to sit and wallow in self-pity. There were times in my life I did just that. It never full filled me though. It was not until I was able to think positive that I felt better about the situation and myself. One of the biggest challenges in my life was the process of getting permanent teeth. The process started when I was in the 5th grade and was complete when I was 19. Through that time I underwent several procedures, many were not successful. After a while it got frustrating, like the process was never going to end. After nine years, the wait was so worth it. Now to have permanent teeth, not having to glue a denture in is pretty awesome.

The truth is that ultimately God is in control, so why fear the inevitable? There are going to be things that happen in our lives that negatively impact us. It is how we choose to react to the negative that allows us to stay on a positive path. The day may not always start off with sunshine and birds chirping, but even the rain and thunder can be made to be a beautiful thing.

It’s your life and your choice. I choose joy 🙂

Saydee Robinson

IMG_2506554026_10201672422353111_1888671412_nFirst picture with my permanent teeth

August 2013

7 thoughts on “February 6th 2015

  1. Such inspiring words! I completely agree with you girl, others comments should not affect our lives. We need to keep on truckin and look at the bright side and positive things in our life. Then our life will be much better!
    Love it 🙂

    Like

  2. Darynn says:

    I couldn’t be more grateful to have the most inspiring person I know in my life, and witness your inner beauty and graciousness everyday.

    Like

  3. Catalina says:

    I look forward to your message each day. Please don’t stop! As a mother of a girl with Pfieffers your words are uplifting, joyfull and put a smile in my face. Thank you! You are an inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lance Brookshire says:

    During the short time that you have been writing this, I can feel you blossoming into an ever more beautiful human being. Coincidently, I think you have uncovered another of your amazing gifts. Writing. God Bless You, GP

    Like

Leave a Reply

