February 8th 2015

I am a believer in a God who sculpted us to his perfection. Then we get a scar, man’s contribution to who we are. Since starting this blog, I’ve been obsessed with my surgical scars. While you are reading the blog learning about my struggles and challenges; I have the proof of the challenges that I have faced through each of my scars. Each scar defines a part of my life and has left a mark on me (literally) for the rest of my life. The scars I am referring to are physical, each has a story and whether I like it or not, they are a permanent part of me. I do not remember much about the surgeries I had as a child except the nasty sleeping gas I had to inhale, but my scars are the reminder for me.

The majority of my scars are on my head and in my mouth, so I had not seen them until recently. I honestly didn’t realize half of them were scars until I had my mom take pictures. Now that sounds very weird I know, but I have one particular scar that travels down the back of my neck and when I touch the back of my neck I can distinctly feel it, I thought everyone had a mark on their neck.

Scars do not have to be just physical. Emotional and mental scarring can be a huge part of our lives. They are what shape us. I know for me, the scars bullies left on me are what made me who I am today. I think a scary event we have experienced or the loss of someone close to us can give you scars. Each is a memory, one that you would ultimately want to forget but had such an impact on your life and will continue with you.

For me, it is easy to hide my physical scars, even though I really am not purposely hiding them. A scar is that reminder that things will never be the same. You can try to hide them, and you might not see them when you look into a mirror, but they are still there.

I think it is important to use your scars to help others, because while scars might represent a weak point in our lives, they also represent healing, a natural ability for your body to recover from tragedy. It’s proof of strength we didn’t even know we had. I’m proud to show off my scars because they are a part of who I am and without acknowledging my struggles, I could not acknowledge my triumphs.

What is the story behind your scars? Are you allowing your body to heal emotionally? No matter the situation, remember we are all stronger than we realize.

Saydee Robinson

img261 img268

Post Shunt Surgery 1997img262

Post Chiari Surgery 1997imageMy scars today

3 thoughts on “February 8th 2015

  1. Becky says:

    Still loving your blog,so inspiring to me and Karli….you two are both so strong….this should be a book not a blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Michael Eller says:

    Hi Saydee – My 1-year-old daughter was born with Crouzon Syndrome and I can’t tell you how meaningful it’s been to follow your blog over the past week. Everyday I’ve been checking in to read your insights and thoughts about what it’s been like to grow up with Crouzon. I can’t help but wonder about the similarities and differences that my little Rory will face. Thank you for what you’re doing. You have no idea how much it’s speaking to people like myself and my wife. I look forward to continue hearing what you have to say! – Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so glad to hear that you are enjoying my story. I was truly blessed to have an amazing support system which I plan on talking about in the coming days that I know you and your wife are giving your daughter. I pray that Rory would be filled with strength and allow her true beauty to shine through. Also something that is incredibly important. Make sure she dreams BIG. Your daughter will do incredible things 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting. Your story is why I am doing this blog, so thank you very much!
      God Bless!
      Saydee

      Like

Leave a Reply

