February 9th 2015

I chose to write about my friends today because it happens to be my friend Ashley’s 21st birthday. I met Ashley in preschool and I’ve treasured our friendship ever since. I believe choosing a good friend that is supportive and builds you up is such an important part of your existence. Everyone has a natural desire to fit in somewhere and if you choose the wrong friends it could ultimately change your fate.

What is a friend? I would like to believe a friend is someone who you can be your complete self around; someone that you can love and hate in the same day, a person that would do anything for you and you would do anything for them (within reason of course), someone who’s honest even if you don’t agree with them or want to hear it, and someone who makes you a better person.

I am going to use today’s post to brag for a minute about my friends. Like I said in previous posts, I had a group of very close friends throughout school. I guess you could say they were the chosen few I allowed in my bubble. I met each one at some point in elementary school and we have been friends ever since. Once you are friends with someone for so long, you become family, and my friends are truly my family. They have been through all of my struggles with me, and my triumphs. We had our moments where we got frustrated and angry at each other but in the end we stick together because that is what family does. I could not be any more grateful for growing up alongside these amazing people and I would not be who I am today without each of them.

Once I graduated high school and gained more confidence in myself, I was able to branch out and meet more people. I can honestly say I was not comfortable enough to do that a few years ago. Today, I have been so blessed to not only maintain strong friendships with most of my school friends, but also have new friendships that I am so grateful for. While the friends I have made recently were not with me during the time I was growing up, they were able to accept me as I am, and have grown to understand my quirkiness pretty quickly.

That is what is so important about friendship. You are able to be yourself around people without being judged. They are okay with you being a dork, or crazy. They allow you and encourage you to dream big even when you are feeling down. They are not only there during the good times, but the bad ones. They support you and are always there with a word of encouragement and support and I, in return, choose to do the same for them.

As we grow older we have jobs, and live farther away from each other, but real friendship is when you reunite after a long period of time and it feels like it was yesterday. You go right back to where you were all that time ago.

One bible verse my mom repeated to my sister and I frequently is 1 Corinthians 15:33, “Bad company corrupts good character”. I think it has helped me not stray from my beliefs. I surround myself with good people and am so glad I have them. I want to take time to thank my friends (you know who you are) for everything you have done for me, and I love you all very much.

Have you surrounded yourself with positive people who build you up? If not, you may want to reevaluate your relationships. Think about people in your life that; love, inspire, support, and make you a better person. Go thank them today because those are the people you can’t afford to lose.

Saydee Robinson

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 1344 10479075_10204381397915807_5730584018404265527_n

One thought on “February 9th 2015

Leave a Reply

