February 13th 2015

By definition, beauty is the quality of being physically attractive. It can also be defined as the qualities in a person that give pleasure to the senses or the mind.

How shallow can we be? I am sorry but I have never heard anyone say “Your intelligence or your vibrant personality pleased my senses”. These definitions are clearly focused on one’s appearance. How can someone even try to conform to this definition of beauty? Not to mention, some of the most attractive people can be so ugly. Ones idea of beauty is different across the world and even over time. It is ever changing. If I owned a home on top of a mountain with a picturesque view, I’d think that was beautiful. I bet if someone that was afraid of heights were there, they would see it entirely different. It’s been said that beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. I 100% believe that, so why do we box ourselves into trying to fit the mold of society’s definition of beauty?

When we look at these definitions, it sounds like other people determine your beauty. That could not be farther from the truth. Do you realize how time consuming it would be to please other people when it comes to your appearance?

An unknown author wrote “If only we saw souls instead of bodies, how very different our ideals of beauty would be.” I imagine this quote to mean if we saw ourselves the way God sees us, instead of the way the world sees us, how different things would be. I wonder how many fans Hollywood stars would have or who the Hollywood stars would even be.

I will not allow other people to determine if I am beautiful or not. Let’s stand together and defy society’s definition of beauty.

Saydee RobinsonSaydee senior pic 2

Leave a Reply

