February 18th 2015

Forgiveness is the intentional and voluntary process by which a victim undergoes a change in feelings, and attitude regarding an offense. I think one of the hardest things to do in life is to forgive. It all depends on how big the offense is but normally, when you are hurt by someone, the first your first response is not forgiving them but most likely vengeful thoughts, or crude language.

I was brought up in a home where forgiveness was very important, not only among my family but in my faith. Matthew 6:14 says “For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you”. Let’s be honest though, it is hard. Why should you have to go through all of this pain and suffer and they do not? Even if you are willing to forgive, maybe they do not think they did anything wrong. Maybe the person never realized that they caused you pain. Most of the time a person does not ask for forgiveness so it makes forgiving a whole lot more difficult.

When someone comes right out and apologizes for their wrongs, it makes it easier to forgive them. Releasing the anger and the bitterness for that person instead of letting it build up is empowering. Like you are in control of your feelings. They may not ask for it, or want your forgiveness, but you need to do it anyway, if not for them, then for yourself. I have been a person who allowed my bitterness for someone to build up inside. It did not make me feel better nor did it bring out any of my positive qualities.

I’m not saying you do not have the right to be angry. You need time to process, and hurt. But it is after that, when you need to let it go. You do not have to forget. Eventually that might happen too, but just forgiving someone is the most important thing.

I feel like a truly beautiful person is a forgiving person and a person who is able to ask for forgiveness. Both are hard, but both allow you to grow and move forward.

I want to take time to again say thank you for reading my blog. I hope you are continuing to enjoy reading my thoughts and feelings. I have talked a lot about my story and defying society’s definition of beauty. I would like to do spend time answering any questions that people might have about my story and my journey. I know there are a lot of different people reading these. Some are parents of children that are on a similar journey as my own. Others are people might be dealing with bullying and want to seek comfort. Maybe you are just curious or maybe you are my family and feel obligated to read Jk, but I know even my own family has not heard some of the stories that I have told throughout this blog so for the next few days I would like to hear from you. Ask me any questions that you would like me to answer. You can comment on this blog, message me on Facebook or send me an email. The link to my Facebook and my email can be found by clicking the widget button up top.

Saydee Robinson

Leave a Reply

