What A Year!

It was one year ago that I decided to challenge myself and write about my story and my thoughts about living with Crouzon’s Syndrome. Looking back, it amazes me at all I had accomplished in the 21 years prior to writing the blog and the year since then. I never thought my life was all that exciting, but reading my own story makes me realize everything I have been able to do. I have been able to advocate for a bill to bring awareness to craniofacial anomalies in the state of Michigan. I was able to see that bill get signed into law by the then governor of Michigan. I have spoken at numerous charity functions bringing to light my story and the need for children with craniofacial abnormalities to have a sense of comradery with one another. It was because of these things that I was blessed to have been awarded the Patient of Courage award given by the American Society of Plastic Surgeons. All of these things were accomplished before I turned 16. Now as a 22 year old woman, I am even more grateful for the road God has put me on and the obstacles he has put along the way. Because of this blog I have been able to reach people from over 40 countries around the world. I have been contacted by people with children with facial disfigurements as well as people who have facial disfigurements themselves. I have also been able to educate people who were never aware that behind the appearance, there is a story from these people that needs to be heard. This past summer I was even approached by a television production company in the UK and was able to tell them my story. That was the purpose of this blog. To educate, and to bring awareness to the stories that need to be heard. I am so grateful for everyone who made this blog what it was.
Now that is once again February 1st, feel free to look through my blog. I continue to celebrate February as Craniofacial Awareness Month and I hope you all will take the time to make yourself aware as well. We still have a long way to go in educating people about this population of people. Hopefully one day we will be able to say that the stigmatization of this population is a thing of the past.
 

10393810_10206468474651421_6005686031888328704_n

One thought on “What A Year!

Leave a Reply

